Heathdale flower 25th November 2021

School Captains for 2022

Congratulations Sharon Upputholla, Matthew Packham, Chloe Kokoris and Christian Chimbwanda on your new leadership roles!

Heathdale flower

It is with great pleasure that we announce our 2022 School Captains. Our School Captain selection this year began with all Year 9 – 11 students having the opportunity to nominate a student they believed had the character and ability to be a great student leader.

We received 89 responses! Those responses identified 14 individual students, and each nominating student answered a series of questions about the person they had nominated.

When our students spoke about their fellow students, they said things like:

“…a very kind, capable, talented and extremely enthusiastic person…”

“…a person willing to step forward and help in anything, done with a servant heart…”

“…someone that as a peer, and a friend, I feel like I can rely on…”

“…are humble, genuine, always ready to lend a hand…”

It was wonderful to read the commendations that were made and the evidence of how students are seen and respected by their own peers.

Our staff then had the opportunity to give feedback on the nominations and from the two sources of information - peers and staff - we narrowed the field down to a short list for interviews with the Heads of 7-9 & 10-12 and Mrs Letcher.

After this exhaustive process, we have our final four! We know they have the respect of their peers, the praise of their teachers and the courage to be willing to serve and put others before themselves.

We therefore wish to congratulate our new College Captains, Sharon Upputholla and Matthew Packham, and our new College Vice-Captains, Chloe Kokoris and Christian Chimbwanda.

Final Events and Celebrations

This year we have scheduled the Secondary Thanksgiving Evening for Tuesday the 7th of December online, which will include our reflections on the year and a recognition of significant achievements and events for which we can give thanks. The evening will be online at 7:00 pm and the link to join will be sent to families via email.